• info
  • credits
  • upcoming
  • images
  • video
  • press
Show past dates

archief

No upcoming events
Tu 5 Dec 2006
20.30
premiere
Antwerp
tg STAN

info@stan.be
We 6 Dec 2006
20.30
Antwerp
tg STAN

info@stan.be
Su 10 Dec 2006
20.30
Antwerp
tg STAN

info@stan.be
Mo 11 Dec 2006
20.30
Antwerp
tg STAN

info@stan.be
Su 17 Dec 2006
20.30
Antwerp
tg STAN

info@stan.be
Tu 26 Dec 2006
20.30
Antwerp
tg STAN

info@stan.be
We 27 Dec 2006
20.30
Antwerp
tg STAN

info@stan.be
Fr 29 Dec 2006
20.30
Antwerp
tg STAN

info@stan.be
Sa 30 Dec 2006
20.30
Antwerp
tg STAN

info@stan.be
Su 14 Jan 2007
20.30
Antwerp
tg STAN

info@stan.be
Su 21 Jan 2007
20.30
Antwerp
tg STAN

info@stan.be
Sa 27 Jan 2007
20.30
Antwerp
tg STAN

info@stan.be
Su 28 Jan 2007
20.30
Antwerp
tg STAN

info@stan.be

Hide past dates

The first part of the Troy trilogy came into being when the Dutch writer/director, Koos Terpstra wanted to stage Andromache by Euripides. He decided to adapt this tragedy. In 1988, this adaptation became an independent play and was staged by the Toneelschuur from Haarlem.

With her enormous will to live, Andromache held Terpstra's interest. With Neoptolemos , the second part of the trilogy, the writer focuses on another episode of her life: the first months after the fall of Troy. For this prototype of victim of the first heroic war in world literature, the war is not over. It will linger on in her plans for revenge and in the hatred she feels for her master Neoptolemos. He is tired of fighting and looks for a solution, a compromise between deadly enemies. Terpstra's Neoptolemos was staged in 1991 and edited by Fact Rotterdam.

The third part of the trilogy, Troy , was written in the summer of 1994. This part plays in the year before the fall of Troy and treats the question of guilt emanating from an outwardly innocent woman's perspective.

In the Troy Trilogy , a forgotten war story is written: one of a woman in a non-passive role, as survivor, as victim. The Troy Trilogy is a rewriting from the perspective of the individual.

Mythological background of the characters:

Andromache is the daughter of Aëtion, the king of Cilical Thebe. She marries Hector. In the Trojan war, her father, seven brothers and her husband are killed, all by the hand of Achilles. After the fall of Troy, her five-year-old son, Astyanax, is killed and she herself is taken as war booty by Achilles' son Neoptolemos. She becomes his slave and lover and has with him her second son Molossus (in another tale they have three sons together). After the death of Neoptolemos she marries Helenos, a brother of Hector and twin brother of Cassandra. Together they rule over the Greek Epiros.

Neoptolemos is the only son of Achilles. After the death of his father, he goes to war. He does his utmost to be worthy of his father. From Odysseus he has received the armour of Achilles. He is one of the soldiers that are locked into the Trojan Horse what leads finally to the Greek victory over Troy. After the fall of Troy, he throws Hector and Andromache's son, Astyanax, down from the walls of Troy. At the division of the war booty he receives Hectors widow, Andromache. As concerns his adventures, the stories told differ somewhat. Most writers claim that he settles in Epiros or in the land of his father, Phthia, and that Menelaos gives him his daughter Hermione as wife, notwithstanding the fact that she is already engaged to Orestes. The marriage remaines barren, in contrast to the relation of Neoptolemos with Andromache. Whilst Neoptolemos, at a certain time, is on a trip to the sanctuary of Delphi, Hermione tries to get rid of her rival, but her plans are crossed by the old Peleus, grandfather of Neoptolemos. Orestes, however, comes to the rescue of his former fiancée: he kills Neoptolemos in Delphi and takes Hermione away with him.

tg STAN speelt "Neoptolemus"

The upshot of neoptolemos is a plea to see humanism as the only solution for irreconcilable differences which incite revenge. Seated at small tables spread out over the stage, the audience is instigated personally with the result that it comes away from the play in silence. Neoptolemos is more about human conflicts here, i.e. situations something can be done about, than it is about Iraq or Lebanon. The last thing the play does is deny the complexity of those conflicts. But the very last thing it does is admit total defeat. It glimmers with hope. It is the sort of theatre there is all too little of: theatre that shares a script rich in discussion material with the man in the street by presenting it clearly through image and acting. Expect no frills but highly relevant content, about a nearby and distant world which we laxly allow to take its course. 
A crucial production , De Morgen, Wouter Hillaert, 20/12/06 

Seated at small tables the audience witnesses a psychological dilemma in which the tide constantly turns. Although Artemis has prophesied that Neoptolemos will be murdered by Andromache, Neoptolemos seeks reconciliation. Or how Troy should not be a Palestine, Northern Ireland or Iraq. For STAN the New Year gets off to a promising start. The subdued acting style of Kruyver and Vercruyssen is well suited to Koos Terpstra's sober script. Neither of the two says a word too many; every swipe seeks and finds its target. It is a compact, powerful play about a highly topical theme. Stripped of all the ballast and bombast, neoptolemos is majestic in its simplicity. Though sharp as a knife, it also heals with the promise of hope.
The end of right , Knack, Thijs De Smet, 10/01/07

text Koos Terpstra
a performance by and with Minke Kruyver and Frank Vercruyssen

advice costumes An D'Huys
lighting design Raf De Clercq and Tim Wouters
set design tg STAN
with the participation of Jolente De Keersmaeker

production tg Stan

premiere 5 December 2006, rehearsal space tg STAN, Antwerp

• info
  • réalisation
  • calendrier
  • photos
  • vidéo
  • presse
Afficher les dates de représentations passées

archief

Pas de performances
mar 5 déc 2006
20.30
première
Anvers
tg STAN

info@stan.be
mer 6 déc 2006
20.30
Anvers
tg STAN

info@stan.be
dim 10 déc 2006
20.30
Anvers
tg STAN

info@stan.be
lun 11 déc 2006
20.30
Anvers
tg STAN

info@stan.be
dim 17 déc 2006
20.30
Anvers
tg STAN

info@stan.be
mar 26 déc 2006
20.30
Anvers
tg STAN

info@stan.be
mer 27 déc 2006
20.30
Anvers
tg STAN

info@stan.be
ven 29 déc 2006
20.30
Anvers
tg STAN

info@stan.be
sam 30 déc 2006
20.30
Anvers
tg STAN

info@stan.be
dim 14 jan 2007
20.30
Anvers
tg STAN

info@stan.be
dim 21 jan 2007
20.30
Anvers
tg STAN

info@stan.be
sam 27 jan 2007
20.30
Anvers
tg STAN

info@stan.be
dim 28 jan 2007
20.30
Anvers
tg STAN

info@stan.be

Cacher les dates de représentation passées

La première partie de la Trilogie de Troie est née quand l'écrivain/metteur en scène Koos Terpstra voulait mettre en scène Andromaque d'Euripide. Il décida de façonner cette tragédie. Cette adaptation devenait en 1988 une édition indépendante et était interprétée par le Toneelschuur d'Haarlem.

Avec sa force de vie énorme, Andromaque ne cessa d'intriguer Terpstra. Dans Néoptolème , la deuxième partie de la trilogie, l'écrivain s'occupe d'une autre période de sa vie, les premiers mois après la chute de Troie. Pour la victime-prototype de la première guerre héroïque de la littérature mondiale, la guerre n'est pas encore finie. Elle continue dans ses plans de vengeance et ses sentiments de haine envers son maître Néoptolème. Fatigué du combat, celui-ci cherche une solution, un compromis avec son ennemi mortel. Le Néoptolème de Terpstra était terminé et publié en 1991 par Fact Rotterdam.

La troisième partie de la trilogie, Troie , a été écrite pendant l'été de 1994. Cette partie se situe dans l'année avant la chute de Troie et traite la question de la culpabilité vue par un oeil féminin, apparemment innocent.

Dans la Trilogie de Troie , une histoire de guerre oubliée est décrite. Celle d'une femme qui n'est pas passive et qui joue un rôle, en tant que survivante et en tant que victime. Cette adaptation  est donc celle du point de vue de l'individu.

Contexte mythologique des personnages:

Andromaque est la fille d'Eétion, roi de Thèbes en Mysie. Elle est la femme d'Hector. Dans la guerre de Troie, son père, ses sept frères et son mari sont mis à mort par la main d'Achille. Après la chute de Troie son fils de 5 ans, Astyanax, est tué et elle-même est capturée et emmenée comme part de butin par le fils d'Achille, Néoptolème. Elle devient son esclave et sa maîtresse et a avec lui son deuxième fils, Molossus (dans une autre tradition elle a 3 fils avec lui). Après la mort de Néoptolème elle devient la femme d'Hélénus, un frère d'Hector et frère jumeau de Cassandre. Ensemble ils règnent sur l'Epire.

Néoptolème est le seul fils d'Achille. Après la mort de son père, il part aussi à la guerre. Il essaie d'être digne de son père. Ulysse lui a remis les armes d'Achille. Il est un des soldats qui s'était fait enfermer dans le cheval de bois, ruse qui a permis la victoire des grecs. Après la chute de Troie, il jette le fils d'Hector et d'Andromaque, Astyanax, du haut des murs de Troie. Lors de la division du butin de guerre, il reçoit entre autre choses la veuve d'Hector, Andromaque. Les histoires d'après son départ de Troie diffèrent légèrement. La plupart des écrivains raconte qu'il s'établit à Epire ou bien dans le pays de son père, Phthie, et qu'il reçoit du roi Ménélas sa fille Hermione en épouse, malgré les fiançailles de celle-ci avec Oreste. Le mariage reste infertile, alors que Andromaque, elle, a un enfant de Neoptolème. Un jour, alors que Néoptolème est en voyage au sanctuaire de Delphes, Hermione essaie de se débarrasser de sa rivale, mais est contrariée par le vieux Pélée, le grand-père de Néoptolème. Mais Oreste vient à l'aide de sa fiancée. Il tue Néoptolème à Delphes et emmène Hermione avec lui.

tg STAN speelt "Neoptolemus"

Le plaidoyer en faveur de l'humanisme comme unique solution aux oppositions irréconciliables (en temps de guerre ou non), gonflées de rancune, conclut neoptolemos . Entre les petites tables éparpillées sur scène auxquelles STAN a fait prendre place ses spectateurs, il nous apostrophe personnellement, ce qui nous rend coi en sortant. Plus encore que d'Irak ou du Liban, neoptolemos parle des conflits entre les hommes ici même, de circonstances qu'il est possible de changer. Même si le spectacle n'en nie pas la complexité, il n'est pas du tout défaitiste, car il fait entrevoir des perspectives. Le résultat est du théâtre comme il y en a trop peu, du théâtre partageant avec le public un texte riche en sujets de discussion, en le présentant aussi clairement que possible à travers les images et le jeu. Ne vous attendez pas à des fioritures, mais plutôt à un contenu d'une grande pertinence, à propos d'un monde, proche et lointain, que nous laissons beaucoup trop souvent suivre son cours.
Un spectacle essentiel , De Morgen, Wouter Hillaert, 20/12/06

Le public, assis à de petites tables, assiste à un duel psychologique où l'avantage change sans cesse de camp. Même si Artémis a prédit à Néoptolème qu'il sera tué par Andromaque, il cherche la réconciliation. Pour indiquer que Troie n'est pas nécessairement la Palestine, l'Irlande du Nord ou l'Irak. Pour STAN, la nouvelle année commence par une grande bouffée d'espoir. Le style de jeu posé de Kruyver et Vercruyssen fait honneur au texte sobre de Koos Terpstra. Aucun des deux ne dit un mot de trop ; chaque coup de griffe cherche et trouve son but. Le résultat est un spectacle compact et puissant sur un thème d'une actualité mordante. Néoptolème , dénué de tout poids mort et de toute grandiloquence, est grand dans sa simplicité. Acéré comme un couteau, mais voulant aussi panser les plaies avec une promesse d'espoir.
Avoir raison n'est plus possible , Knack, Thijs De Smet, 10/01/07

texte Koos Terpstra
de et avec Minke Kruyver et Frank Vercruyssen

conseil costumes An D'Huys
lumières Raf De Clercq et Tim Wouters
décor STAN
avec la participation de Jolente De Keersmaeker

production STAN

première le 5 décembre 2006, locaux de répétition STAN, Anvers