• info
  • credits
  • upcoming
Fri 4 June 2021 19:00
Paris
Sat 5 June 2021 19:00
Paris
Tue 8 June 2021 19:00
Paris
Wed 9 June 2021 19:00
Paris
Thu 10 June 2021 19:00
Paris
Fri 11 June 2021 19:00
Paris
Sat 12 June 2021 19:00
Paris
Tue 15 June 2021 19:00
Paris
Wed 16 June 2021 19:00
Paris
Thu 17 June 2021 19:00
Paris
Fri 18 June 2021 19:00
Paris
Sat 19 June 2021 19:00
Paris
Mon 21 June 2021 19:00
Paris
Tue 22 June 2021 19:00
Paris
Wed 23 June 2021 19:00
Paris
Show past dates
No upcoming events

archief

No upcoming events

"We take the text of Bérénice by Jean Racine. Two young actors know the roles of  Bérénice, of Titus and of Antiochus, and they are on stage every evening. I am there as master of ceremonies. The audience is invited to learn one of those roles by heart in advance. Nobody is obliged to do this; you can just come and watch, nothing more. During a three-week period, our actors will meet several members of the public each evening over legendary scenes from Bérénice. These spectators won’t have prepared anything with the actors, they will all see each other for the first time. On the evening itself, it will be possible to discuss scenes, go over them and so on. How did they perform them? How would you do it? And if they were to redo the same scene? Each evening is unique, because each time the audience witnesses a one-off version."

With Via Bérénice, Frank Vercruyssen, as the seasoned master of ceremonies, invites the spectators to perform famous speeches from the play. Professionals, amateurs, all united indiscriminately, will be able to share the pleasure of performing, and nonchalantly dislodge our idea of what a theatre performance is.   

 

with Frank Vercruyssen, two actors and a number of spectators
and with the artistic participation of the Jeune théâtre national
production tg STAN
premiere June 4th 2021, Théâtre de la Bastille, Paris, FR

image :
Berlinde De Bruyckere, La femme sans tête, 2003
Wax, epoxy, iron
H 160 x 60 x 90 cm
Private collection, USA
© Mirjam Devriendt