• info
  • credits
  • upcoming
  • images
Thu 1 October 2020
Toulouse
Fri 2 October 2020
Toulouse
Sat 3 October 2020
Toulouse
Thu 8 October 2020
Toulouse
Fri 9 October 2020
Toulouse
Sat 10 October 2020
Toulouse
Mon 12 October 2020
Ibos
Tue 13 October 2020
Ibos
Thu 15 October 2020
Aix-en-Provence
Fri 16 October 2020
Aix-en-Provence
Wed 21 October 2020
Brussel
Thu 22 October 2020
Brussel
Fri 23 October 2020
Brussel
Sat 24 October 2020
Brussel
Fri 30 October 2020
La Chaux de fonds
Sat 31 October 2020
La Chaux de fonds
Fri 6 November 2020 20:00
Vevey
Sat 7 November 2020 20:00
Vevey
Tue 10 November 2020
Yverdon-les-bains
Wed 11 November 2020
Yverdon-les-bains
Tue 24 November 2020
Lorient
Wed 25 November 2020
Lorient
Wed 12 May 2021
Genève
Thu 13 May 2021
Genève
Fri 14 May 2021
Genève
Sat 15 May 2021
Genève
Show past dates
Tue 7 July 2020 19:30 Les Nuits de Fourvière

https://www.nuitsdefourviere.com/

Mon 6 July 2020 19:30 Les Nuits de Fourvière

https://www.nuitsdefourviere.com/

Sun 5 July 2020 19:30 Les Nuits de Fourvière

https://www.nuitsdefourviere.com/

Sat 4 July 2020 19:30 Les Nuits de Fourvière

https://www.nuitsdefourviere.com/

archief

No upcoming events

Molière: “I want to deal with the absurdities of human nature and represent the shortcomings of the world in an agreeable manner on stage”.

Reason enough for a team of full-blooded actors to dip into Molière’s work and make a new show. Stijn Van Opstal, Bert Haelvoet, Damiaan De Schrijver, Jolente De Keersmaeker, Els Dottermans, Willy Thomas and Frank Vercruyssen are the team working on Molière’s oeuvre.

Plays which have definitely made it onto the programme are: Le Bourgeois gentilhomme (1670), in which Molière makes fun of a wealthy gentleman who tries to copy the behaviour of the aristocracy, and L’Avare (The Miser, 1668), a tragicomedy about parsimony, the perverted exercise of power, avarice, truth and lies and the generation conflict. And at the same time a wonderful metaphor for the banking crisis.  

STAN knows Molière’s work particularly well. Back in 2004, this actors’ collective made the successful Poquelin, a play based on a number of Molière’s plays, including Médecin malgré lui (The Doctor in Spite of Himself) Sganarelle (The Imaginary Cuckold) and Le Malade Imaginaire (The Imaginary Invalid). A Dutch version and a French version of the show toured extensively and clearly left their audiences wanting more. Hence Poquelin II.

tg STAN - Poquelin II
tg STAN - Poquelin II
tg STAN - Poquelin II
tg STAN - Poquelin II

text  Molière (‘L’avare’ and ‘Le Bourgeois Gentilhomme’)
by and with  Els Dottermans, Willy Thomas, Stijn Van Opstal, Bert Haelvoet, Jolente De Keersmaeker, Damiaan De Schrijver and Frank Vercruyssen 
lighting design Thomas Walgrave
comstumes Inge Büscher
production and decor tg STAN
coproduction of the original version Toneelhuis/Olympique Dramatique, NTGent, Dood Paard and ARSENAAL/LAZARUS
coproduction of the French spoken version 
Centre Dramatique National Besançon Franche-Comté (FR), Les Nuits de Fourvière (Lyon, FR), Théâtre de Lorient Centre Dramatique National (FR), Théâtre populaire romand La Chaux-de-Fonds (CH), Théâtre Garonne (Toulouse, FR), Le Parvis scène nationale Tarbes Pyrénées (FR), Comédie de Genève (CH)