• info
  • credits
  • upcoming
  • images
  • press
Show past dates

archief

No upcoming events
Tu 15 May 2001
premiere
Toulouse
Théâtre Garonne

+33 5 62485477
website
We 16 May 2001 Toulouse
Théâtre Garonne

+33 5 62485477
website
Th 17 May 2001 Toulouse
Théâtre Garonne

+33 5 62485477
website
Fr 18 May 2001 Toulouse
Théâtre Garonne

+33 5 62485477
website
Sa 19 May 2001 Toulouse
Théâtre Garonne

+33 5 62485477
website
Tu 22 May 2001 Toulouse
Théâtre Garonne

+33 5 62485477
website
We 23 May 2001 Toulouse
Théâtre Garonne

+33 5 62485477
website
Tu 29 May 2001 Toulouse
Théâtre Garonne

+33 5 62485477
website
We 30 May 2001 Toulouse
Théâtre Garonne

+33 5 62485477
website
Th 31 May 2001 Toulouse
Théâtre Garonne

+33 5 62485477
website
Th 8 Nov 2001 Dieppe
Dieppe Scène National

+33 2 35820443
website
Tu 13 Nov 2001 Maubeuge
Le Manège

+33 3 27656540
website
We 14 Nov 2001 Maubeuge
Le Manège

+33 3 27656540
website
Th 15 Nov 2001 Maubeuge
Le Manège

+33 3 27656540
website
Tu 20 Nov 2001 Quimper
Théâtre de Cornouaille

+33 2 98559855
website
We 21 Nov 2001 Quimper
Théâtre de Cornouaille

+33 2 98559855
website
Th 22 Nov 2001 Quimper
Théâtre de Cornouaille

+33 2 98559855
website
Fr 23 Nov 2001 Quimper
Théâtre de Cornouaille

+33 2 98559855
website
Sa 24 Nov 2001 Quimper
Théâtre de Cornouaille

+33 2 98559855
website
Tu 27 Nov 2001 Aix-en-Provence
Théâtre Antoine Vitez

+33 4 42599437
website
Th 29 Nov 2001 Colmar
Atelier du Rhin - Théâtre de la Manufacture

+33 3 89243178
website
Fr 30 Nov 2001 Colmar
Atelier du Rhin - Théâtre de la Manufacture

+33 3 89243178
website
Sa 1 Dec 2001 Colmar
Atelier du Rhin - Théâtre de la Manufacture

+33 3 89243178
website
Tu 4 Dec 2001 Paris
Théâtre de la Bastille / Festival d'Automne

+33 1 43574214
website
We 5 Dec 2001 Paris
Théâtre de la Bastille / Festival d'Automne

+33 1 43574214
website
Th 6 Dec 2001 Paris
Théâtre de la Bastille / Festival d'Automne

+33 1 43574214
website
Fr 7 Dec 2001 Paris
Théâtre de la Bastille / Festival d'Automne

+33 1 43574214
website
Sa 8 Dec 2001 Paris
Théâtre de la Bastille / Festival d'Automne

+33 1 43574214
website
Su 9 Dec 2001 Paris
Théâtre de la Bastille / Festival d'Automne

+33 1 43574214
website
Tu 11 Dec 2001 Paris
Théâtre de la Bastille / Festival d'Automne

+33 1 43574214
website
We 12 Dec 2001 Paris
Théâtre de la Bastille / Festival d'Automne

+33 1 43574214
website
Th 13 Dec 2001 Paris
Théâtre de la Bastille / Festival d'Automne

+33 1 43574214
website
Fr 14 Dec 2001 Paris
Théâtre de la Bastille / Festival d'Automne

+33 1 43574214
website
Sa 15 Dec 2001 Paris
Théâtre de la Bastille / Festival d'Automne

+33 1 43574214
website
Su 16 Dec 2001 Paris
Théâtre de la Bastille / Festival d'Automne

+33 1 43574214
website
Tu 18 Dec 2001 Paris
Théâtre de la Bastille / Festival d'Automne

+33 1 43574214
website
We 19 Dec 2001 Paris
Théâtre de la Bastille / Festival d'Automne

+33 1 43574214
website
Th 20 Dec 2001 Paris
Théâtre de la Bastille / Festival d'Automne

+33 1 43574214
website
Fr 21 Dec 2001 Paris
Théâtre de la Bastille / Festival d'Automne

+33 1 43574214
website
We 1 May 2002 Brussels
Les Halles de Schaerbeek

+32 2 2182107
website
Th 2 May 2002 Brussels
Les Halles de Schaerbeek

+32 2 2182107
website
Fr 3 May 2002 Brussels
Les Halles de Schaerbeek

+32 2 2182107
website
Mo 6 May 2002 Cahors
Théâtre de Cahors / Dionysos

+33 5 65208860
website
Tu 7 May 2002 Cahors
Théâtre de Cahors / Dionysos

+33 5 65208860
website
Tu 14 May 2002 Brest
Le Quartz

+33 2 98337070
website
We 15 May 2002 Brest
Le Quartz

+33 2 98337070
website
Th 16 May 2002 Brest
Le Quartz

+33 2 98337070
website
Fr 17 May 2002 Brest
Le Quartz

+33 2 98337070
website
Tu 21 May 2002 Montpellier
Humain Trop Humain - CDN Montpellier

+33 4 67992500
website
We 22 May 2002 Montpellier
Humain Trop Humain - CDN Montpellier

+33 4 67992500
website
Th 23 May 2002 Montpellier
Humain Trop Humain - CDN Montpellier

+33 4 67992500
website
Fr 24 May 2002 Montpellier
Humain Trop Humain - CDN Montpellier

+33 4 67992500
website
Sa 25 May 2002 Montpellier
Humain Trop Humain - CDN Montpellier

+33 4 67992500
website
Th 30 May 2002 Saint-Jacques-de-la-Lande
Théâtre de l'Aire Libre

+33 2 99307070
Fr 31 May 2002 Saint-Jacques-de-la-Lande
Théâtre de l'Aire Libre

+33 2 99307070
We 5 Jun 2002 Lisbon
Teatro da Garagem

+351 93 88 722 33
Th 6 Jun 2002 Lisbon
Teatro da Garagem

+351 93 88 722 33
Fr 7 Jun 2002 Lisbon
Teatro da Garagem

+351 93 88 722 33
Sa 8 Jun 2002 Lisbon
Teatro da Garagem

+351 93 88 722 33
Tu 18 Jun 2002 Angoulème
Théâtre d'Angoulême

+33 5 45386162
website
We 19 Jun 2002 Angoulème
Théâtre d'Angoulême

+33 5 45386162
website
Tu 4 May 2004 Saint-Nazaire
Le Fanal

+33 2 40229140
We 5 May 2004 Saint-Nazaire
Le Fanal

+33 2 40229140
Th 6 May 2004 Saint-Nazaire
Le Fanal

+33 2 40229140
Fr 7 May 2004 Saint-Nazaire
Le Fanal

+33 2 40229140
Mo 10 May 2004 Le Mans
L'espal

+33 2 43502150
website
Tu 11 May 2004 Le Mans
L'espal

+33 2 43502150
website
Fr 14 May 2004 Perpignan
Théâtre de Perpignan

+33 4 68663354
Sa 15 May 2004 Perpignan
Théâtre de Perpignan

+33 4 68663354
Mo 5 Nov 2007
20.30
Rabat
Théâtre National Mohammed V

website

Tu 6 Nov 2007
20.30
Rabat
Théâtre National Mohammed V

website

Su 11 Nov 2007
20.00
Tunis
El Teatro

website

We 3 Jun 2009
20.00
Toulouse
Théâtre Garonne

+33 5 62485477
website
Th 4 Jun 2009
20.00
Toulouse
Théâtre Garonne

+33 5 62485477
website
Fr 5 Jun 2009
20.00
Toulouse
Théâtre Garonne

+33 5 62485477
website
Sa 6 Jun 2009
20.00
Toulouse
Théâtre Garonne

+33 5 62485477
website
Fr 7 Jan 2011
21.00
Greek premiere
Athens
Onassis Cultural Center

+30 210 9249090
website
Sa 8 Jan 2011
21.00
meeting with the audience
Athens
Onassis Cultural Center

+30 210 9249090
website
Su 9 Jan 2011
21.00
Athens
Onassis Cultural Center

+30 210 9249090
website
Tu 22 Jan 2013
20.30
surtitled in Dutch
Brussels
Théâtre National / KVS

+32 2 203 5303
website
We 23 Jan 2013
19.30
surtitled in Dutch
Brussels
Théâtre National / KVS

+32 2 203 5303
website
Th 24 Jan 2013
20.30
surtitled in Dutch
Brussels
Théâtre National / KVS

+32 2 203 5303
website
Fr 25 Jan 2013
20.30
surtitled in Dutch
Brussels
Théâtre National / KVS

+32 2 203 5303
website
Sa 26 Jan 2013
20.30
surtitled in Dutch
Brussels
Théâtre National / KVS

+32 2 203 5303
website
The secret of the Great Stories is that they have no secrets. The Great Stories are the ones you have heard and want to hear again. The ones you can enter anywhere and inhabit comfortably. They don’t deceive you with thrills and trick endings. They don’t surprise you with the unforeseen. They are as familiar as the house you live in. Or the smell of your lover’s skin. You know how they end, yet you listen as though you don’t. In the way that although you know that one day you will die, you live as though you won’t. In the Great Stories, you know who lives, who dies, who finds love, who doesn’t. And yet you want to know again.

from The God of Small Things by Arundathi Roy

Antigone who provokes the gods, defies death and questions the established order? Or Antigone who rejects the normal rules of society and refuses to make any concessions in the name of life? Cocteau/Anouilh, 1922/1944, two different versions of the myth. The one is short, powerful and in the heroic style of the ancient tragedy; the other is more human, smacks of disillusionment and betrays a desperate existentialism.
In Les Antigones/2 Antigone tg STAN juxtaposes the two versions: the possibilities contained in a script, the chance aspects of a choice and the way history misleads mankind.

The creation of Les Antigones in Toulouse is one of those STAN productions which is produced in another country and in another language. In Bergen (Norway) Tg STAN made The Answering Machine (Finn Iunker), in Oakland One 2 Life (based on the letters of  George L. Jackson) and in Lisbon Point Blank (Anton Chekhov). All three of those productions were in English. With Les Antigones , Tg STAN joins forces with Théâtre Garonne and sets off on its first adventure in French.

The Myth

Antigone means "against the progeny" in Greek, Ismene is the name of one of Thebes' two rivers, the literal translation of Creon is "sovereign", Haemon's name is a reference to "haima" or blood in Greek, and Eurydice ("wide in her judgment") is one of the titles of the Queen of the Dead
*
According to tradition there are several gates to the Underworld. One of them is in the vicinity of Athens, another near Cape Tenare, at the southernmost tip of the Peloponnese.
*
The gods' will may be read in the way a sacrificial offering catches fire, in the flight of birds, the rustling of the leaves of a sacred tree, or in the viscera of a sacrificial animal. In some cases the augur merely observes phenomena, in others he interprets his observations.
*
The daughters of Cadmus, the founder of Thebes, were the most beautiful girls in town; after all, Aphrodite was their grandmother. Zeus was smitten by Semele, whom he came to woo at the palace in Thebes. His ways of appearing and disappearing seemed so mysterious to Semele that she became convinced he was a god. After badgering him with questions she finally made him admit he was indeed Zeus. To verify this statement – she was carrying his child – she decided to urge him to show his true aspect. One night she asked him to grant her one of her wishes. Zeus immediately agreed, even swearing by the Styx, a river in the Underworld – this was the most solemn oath a god could swear. Semele revealed her wish: "Show yourself to me in your true divine aspect." Zeus begged her to request something else, as this was too dangerous for her, but Semele insisted. Zeus left, most distressed, because he knew what the future had in store for the young woman. He reappeared in all his splendour as the first among gods, cloaked in clouds, thunderbolts and lightning. As soon as he appeared his glory consumed Semele who died giving prematurely birth to her son. But the wooden pillars in the rooms sprouted buds and were covered in ivy that shielded the baby against the withering heat. Zeus slashed his own thigh, took the child and put it inside his flesh, closing the cut with Semele's golden needles. The child grew there until he was born. His mother had been a mortal, but he was a god, having inherited his father's divine powers. His name was Dionysus.
*
King Acrisius of Argos, one of the oldest cities in the Peloponnese, imprisoned his only daughter Danae in a bronze tower (or, in another version, in a buried bronze cell) because an oracle had told the king that he would be killed by his grandson. But Acrisius was hoping in vain that he could keep Danae from birthing any children. Zeus, moved by Danae's beauty and grief, entered her jail in the form of a golden shower and begot a son, Perseus. Acrisius, angry for having been duped and once again deeply afraid, had his daughter and her newborn son sealed inside a wooden chest and thrown in the sea. Protected by Zeus they rode the waves until they were cast ashore on the small island of Seriphos, where King Polydectes gave them a warm welcome. After several years – and a score of perilous adventures involving Medusa and Andromeda – Perseus returned to Argos. His grandfather, at first mortally afraid of him, soon was completely won over by the young man's disarming manner. Later Perseus inadvertently killed his grandfather while throwing a discus.
*
At the end of the Sixties the inmates of the infamous prison on Robben Island decided to produce 'Antigone' at their Christmas performance. In the context of the struggle against apartheid the play gained a special meaning. The prisoner who proposed himself for the part of Creon was called Nelson Rolihlala Mandela
*
Among the gods of Mount Olympus, Aphrodite, goddess of love, is Zeus' daughter and Hephaestus' wife. She had liaisons with other gods as well as with mortals. With Ares, son of Zeus and Hera, she had a son who was called Eros.
*
Hades, son of Cronus, is the god of the Underworld. He is also the master of Earth's natural resources, and more specifically of precious metals. Therefore he was also called Plouton ("Giver of riches").
*
Through his father Everes the famous seer Tiresias was a descendant of the race of armed men born from the dragon's teeth sown by Cadmus, the founder of Thebes. Tiresias' mother was the nymph Cariclo, one of Athena's companions. How Tiresias was blinded – first version: one day Athena was bathing in the Hippocrene Fountain on Mount Helicon. Tiresias, who was hunting in the mountains, saw her by chance. The goddess struck him blind, but Cariclo pleaded for her son. Finally Athena granted Tiresias the gift of second sight. How Tiresias was blinded – second version: one day Tiresias saw two snakes coupling. He slid between them and was instantly changed into a woman. Seven years later, seeing two other entwined snakes, he repeated his action and became a man again. Zeus and Hera were embroiled in a never-ending quarrel about who – man or woman – takes the greatest pleasure in lovemaking. They asked Tiresias to tell them once and for all, as he had experienced the life of both sexes. Tiresias answered that a woman's pleasure is nine times greater than a man's. Enraged, Hera took away his eyesight while Zeus, pleased with his answer, gave him the gift of clairvoyance and the ability to live seven consecutive human lives. It is told that Tiresias died of weariness and old age when the people of Thebes, defeated by the Epigones, went into exile on his recommendation.

Two hours of simple but exquisite theatre. A masterly example of group acting. 
De Morgen 

They may get straight to the point and pay great attention to their material, but they nevertheless bring an inspiring tale about following one’s heart. When intelligence and humour become partners in culture, great things are afoot. This production provides food for thought about the repertoire, brings familiar yet refreshing material and is thought out in the minutest detail.
De Standaard

The four actors manage to make an asset of their accents, as every syllable changes into a musical note.
Libération

They play Cocteau and – even more so – Anouilh without any preconceptions, as if these were virgin texts, untouched, eager to acquire a sense; they reject all ostentation, pretence and embellishments. No director, no set, no costumes. No draperies. Everything becomes artless, unsteady, tenuous. Everything begins anew, everything becomes true. By breaking down the mechanisms of theatrical illusion they bring unheard-of accents to the tragedy. The actor reveals himself in the front line, and if he's slightly overweight, if he's a little too thin, if he limps because of an accident, that is all we see. He strips himself of all ornaments, he steps down from his ancient pedestal. He is disarmed, he is free.
Le Figaro

The conventions of tragedy and of the popular press come together to stir up emotions. But this is only made possible by the actors and their effortless vitality, always ready to forge ahead.
Le Monde

In front of a long table that will later become a stage, the actress steps forward with a slight smile and announces what will take place tonight. There is no suspense. Everyone knows the story. And then, while the light draws golden streaks on the ground, unfolds the inexorable destiny of a stubborn young girl in a miniskirt and trainers, with a blond braid and athletic legs. All the actors are true to themselves, truly magnificent, while carrying us to the height of emotion with a purity never achieved before. A tragedy was rarely of such beauty.
L'Express

text Jean Cocteau / Jean Anouilh
by and with Natali Broods, Jolente De Keersmaeker, Tine Embrechts, Tiago Rodrigues and Frank Vercruyssen

set and lighting design Thomas Walgrave
costumes An D'Huys
many thanks to Laurence d’Hondt

production tg STAN
coproduction Théâtre Garonne (Toulouse), Festival d’Automne (Paris) and Théâtre de la Bastille (Paris)

premiere 15 May 2001, Théâtre Garonne, Toulouse (FR)
premiere English version 1 April 2003, Kulturhuset, Stockholm (S)

• info
  • réalisation
  • calendrier
  • photos
  • presse
Afficher les dates de représentations passées

archief

Pas de performances
mar 15 mai 2001
première
Toulouse
Théâtre Garonne

+33 5 62485477
site web
mer 16 mai 2001 Toulouse
Théâtre Garonne

+33 5 62485477
site web
jeu 17 mai 2001 Toulouse
Théâtre Garonne

+33 5 62485477
site web
ven 18 mai 2001 Toulouse
Théâtre Garonne

+33 5 62485477
site web
sam 19 mai 2001 Toulouse
Théâtre Garonne

+33 5 62485477
site web
mar 22 mai 2001 Toulouse
Théâtre Garonne

+33 5 62485477
site web
mer 23 mai 2001 Toulouse
Théâtre Garonne

+33 5 62485477
site web
mar 29 mai 2001 Toulouse
Théâtre Garonne

+33 5 62485477
site web
mer 30 mai 2001 Toulouse
Théâtre Garonne

+33 5 62485477
site web
jeu 31 mai 2001 Toulouse
Théâtre Garonne

+33 5 62485477
site web
jeu 8 nov 2001 Dieppe
Dieppe Scène National

+33 2 35820443
site web
mar 13 nov 2001 Maubeuge
Le Manège

+33 3 27656540
site web
mer 14 nov 2001 Maubeuge
Le Manège

+33 3 27656540
site web
jeu 15 nov 2001 Maubeuge
Le Manège

+33 3 27656540
site web
mar 20 nov 2001 Quimper
Théâtre de Cornouaille

+33 2 98559855
site web
mer 21 nov 2001 Quimper
Théâtre de Cornouaille

+33 2 98559855
site web
jeu 22 nov 2001 Quimper
Théâtre de Cornouaille

+33 2 98559855
site web
ven 23 nov 2001 Quimper
Théâtre de Cornouaille

+33 2 98559855
site web
sam 24 nov 2001 Quimper
Théâtre de Cornouaille

+33 2 98559855
site web
mar 27 nov 2001 Aix-en-Provence
Théâtre Antoine Vitez

+33 4 42599437
site web
jeu 29 nov 2001 Colmar
Atelier du Rhin - Théâtre de la Manufacture

+33 3 89243178
site web
ven 30 nov 2001 Colmar
Atelier du Rhin - Théâtre de la Manufacture

+33 3 89243178
site web
sam 1 déc 2001 Colmar
Atelier du Rhin - Théâtre de la Manufacture

+33 3 89243178
site web
mar 4 déc 2001 Paris
Théâtre de la Bastille / Festival d'Automne

+33 1 43574214
site web
mer 5 déc 2001 Paris
Théâtre de la Bastille / Festival d'Automne

+33 1 43574214
site web
jeu 6 déc 2001 Paris
Théâtre de la Bastille / Festival d'Automne

+33 1 43574214
site web
ven 7 déc 2001 Paris
Théâtre de la Bastille / Festival d'Automne

+33 1 43574214
site web
sam 8 déc 2001 Paris
Théâtre de la Bastille / Festival d'Automne

+33 1 43574214
site web
dim 9 déc 2001 Paris
Théâtre de la Bastille / Festival d'Automne

+33 1 43574214
site web
mar 11 déc 2001 Paris
Théâtre de la Bastille / Festival d'Automne

+33 1 43574214
site web
mer 12 déc 2001 Paris
Théâtre de la Bastille / Festival d'Automne

+33 1 43574214
site web
jeu 13 déc 2001 Paris
Théâtre de la Bastille / Festival d'Automne

+33 1 43574214
site web
ven 14 déc 2001 Paris
Théâtre de la Bastille / Festival d'Automne

+33 1 43574214
site web
sam 15 déc 2001 Paris
Théâtre de la Bastille / Festival d'Automne

+33 1 43574214
site web
dim 16 déc 2001 Paris
Théâtre de la Bastille / Festival d'Automne

+33 1 43574214
site web
mar 18 déc 2001 Paris
Théâtre de la Bastille / Festival d'Automne

+33 1 43574214
site web
mer 19 déc 2001 Paris
Théâtre de la Bastille / Festival d'Automne

+33 1 43574214
site web
jeu 20 déc 2001 Paris
Théâtre de la Bastille / Festival d'Automne

+33 1 43574214
site web
ven 21 déc 2001 Paris
Théâtre de la Bastille / Festival d'Automne

+33 1 43574214
site web
mer 1 mai 2002 Bruxelles
Les Halles de Schaerbeek

+32 2 2182107
site web
jeu 2 mai 2002 Bruxelles
Les Halles de Schaerbeek

+32 2 2182107
site web
ven 3 mai 2002 Bruxelles
Les Halles de Schaerbeek

+32 2 2182107
site web
lun 6 mai 2002 Cahors
Théâtre de Cahors / Dionysos

+33 5 65208860
site web
mar 7 mai 2002 Cahors
Théâtre de Cahors / Dionysos

+33 5 65208860
site web
mar 14 mai 2002 Brest
Le Quartz

+33 2 98337070
site web
mer 15 mai 2002 Brest
Le Quartz

+33 2 98337070
site web
jeu 16 mai 2002 Brest
Le Quartz

+33 2 98337070
site web
ven 17 mai 2002 Brest
Le Quartz

+33 2 98337070
site web
mar 21 mai 2002 Montpellier
Humain Trop Humain - CDN Montpellier

+33 4 67992500
site web
mer 22 mai 2002 Montpellier
Humain Trop Humain - CDN Montpellier

+33 4 67992500
site web
jeu 23 mai 2002 Montpellier
Humain Trop Humain - CDN Montpellier

+33 4 67992500
site web
ven 24 mai 2002 Montpellier
Humain Trop Humain - CDN Montpellier

+33 4 67992500
site web
sam 25 mai 2002 Montpellier
Humain Trop Humain - CDN Montpellier

+33 4 67992500
site web
jeu 30 mai 2002 Saint-Jacques-de-la-Lande
Théâtre de l'Aire Libre

+33 2 99307070
ven 31 mai 2002 Saint-Jacques-de-la-Lande
Théâtre de l'Aire Libre

+33 2 99307070
mer 5 juin 2002 Lisbonne
Teatro da Garagem

+351 93 88 722 33
jeu 6 juin 2002 Lisbonne
Teatro da Garagem

+351 93 88 722 33
ven 7 juin 2002 Lisbonne
Teatro da Garagem

+351 93 88 722 33
sam 8 juin 2002 Lisbonne
Teatro da Garagem

+351 93 88 722 33
mar 18 juin 2002 Angoulème
Théâtre d'Angoulême

+33 5 45386162
site web
mer 19 juin 2002 Angoulème
Théâtre d'Angoulême

+33 5 45386162
site web
mar 4 mai 2004 Saint-Nazaire
Le Fanal

+33 2 40229140
mer 5 mai 2004 Saint-Nazaire
Le Fanal

+33 2 40229140
jeu 6 mai 2004 Saint-Nazaire
Le Fanal

+33 2 40229140
ven 7 mai 2004 Saint-Nazaire
Le Fanal

+33 2 40229140
lun 10 mai 2004 Le Mans
L'espal

+33 2 43502150
site web
mar 11 mai 2004 Le Mans
L'espal

+33 2 43502150
site web
ven 14 mai 2004 Perpignan
Théâtre de Perpignan

+33 4 68663354
sam 15 mai 2004 Perpignan
Théâtre de Perpignan

+33 4 68663354
lun 5 nov 2007
20.30
Rabat
Théâtre National Mohammed V

site web

mar 6 nov 2007
20.30
Rabat
Théâtre National Mohammed V

site web

dim 11 nov 2007
20.00
Tunis
El Teatro

site web

mer 3 juin 2009
20.00
Toulouse
Théâtre Garonne

+33 5 62485477
site web
jeu 4 juin 2009
20.00
Toulouse
Théâtre Garonne

+33 5 62485477
site web
ven 5 juin 2009
20.00
Toulouse
Théâtre Garonne

+33 5 62485477
site web
sam 6 juin 2009
20.00
Toulouse
Théâtre Garonne

+33 5 62485477
site web
ven 7 jan 2011
21.00
première en Grèce
Athènes
Onassis Cultural Center

+30 210 9249090
site web
sam 8 jan 2011
21.00
rencontre avec le public
Athènes
Onassis Cultural Center

+30 210 9249090
site web
dim 9 jan 2011
21.00
Athènes
Onassis Cultural Center

+30 210 9249090
site web
mar 22 jan 2013
20.30
surtitrage en néerlandais
Bruxelles
Théâtre National / KVS

+32 2 203 5303
site web
mer 23 jan 2013
19.30
surtitrage en néerlandais
Bruxelles
Théâtre National / KVS

+32 2 203 5303
site web
jeu 24 jan 2013
20.30
surtitrage en néerlandais
Bruxelles
Théâtre National / KVS

+32 2 203 5303
site web
ven 25 jan 2013
20.30
surtitrage en néerlandais
Bruxelles
Théâtre National / KVS

+32 2 203 5303
site web
sam 26 jan 2013
20.30
surtitrage en néerlandais
Bruxelles
Théâtre National / KVS

+32 2 203 5303
site web
Le secret des Grandes Histoires, c’est précisément de n’en point avoir. Les Grandes Histoires sont celles que l’on a déjà entendues et que l’on n’aspire qu’à réentendre. Celles dans lesquelles on peut entrer à tout moment et s’installer à son aise. Elles ne cherchent ni la mystification par le biais du suspense et de dénouements inattendus, ni la surprise de l’incongru. Elles sont aussi familières que la maison qui vous abrite. Que l'odeur d’un amant. On les écoute jusqu’au bout, alors qu’on en connaît la fin. De même que l’on vit comme si l’on ne devait jamais mourir, tout en sachant pertinemment qu’on mourra un jour. Dans les Grandes Histoires, on sait d’avance qui vit, qui meurt, qui trouve l'amour et qui ne le trouve pas. Mais on ne se lasse jamais de le réentendre.

extrait de Le Dieu des Petits Riens d’Arundathi Roy, Gallimard, 1998

Antigone, celle qui brave les Dieux, celle qui affronte la mort, celle qui défie l’ordre ? Ou Antigone, celle qui refuse le jeu social, celle qui dit non à toute compromission au nom de la vie ? Cocteau/Anouilh, 1922/1944, deux versions du mythe. L’une courte, dense, sur le modèle héroïque de la tragédie antique ; l’autre plus humaine, désillusionnée, teintée d’un existentialisme désespéré. Dans ‘Antigone’ tg STAN confronte ces deux visions. On découvre les possibilités que recèle un texte, la contingence des choix et la mystification de l’Histoire.

STAN  ne se contente pas de jouer son répertoire en anglais et en français; souvent, la troupe crée ses spectacles en déplacement. A Bergen (Norvège) STAN a créé The Answering Machine (Finn Iunker), One 2 Life a vu le jour à Oakland en Californie, et c'est à Lisbonne que STAN a créé Point Blank , à la demande de Centro Cultural de Belém. Ces trois spectacles étaient en anglais. En février 2000, lorsque STAN  présenta JDX-Un ennemi du peuple à Toulouse, le Théâtre Garonne invita la compagnie à venir y créer une nouvelle œuvre en français. STAN  accepte très volontiers et, en explorant le répertoire dramatique français, découvre deux versions d'Antigone, respectivement de Jean Cocteau et Jean Anouilh.

Le Mythe

Antigone signifie "contre la progéniture" en grec, Ismène est le nom d'une des deux rivières de Thèbes, Créon se traduit littéralement par "souverain", le nom de Hémon fait référence à "haima", le sang, et le nom d'Eurydice ("ample dans ses jugements") est l'un des titres de la Reine des Morts.
*
Selon la tradition, il existerait des accès aux enfers dans plusieurs lieux. L'un d'eux se trouve dans les environs d'Athènes, un autre près du Cap Ténare, à l'extrémité sud du Péloponnèse.
*
La volonté des dieux peut se lire dans la façon dont l'offrande sacrificielle prend feu, dans le vol des oiseaux, le bruissement des feuilles d'un arbre sacré, ou ressortir de l'étude des entrailles d'animaux sacrificiels. Dans certains cas, l'augure observe des phénomènes, dans d'autres cas, il interprète ses observations.
*
Les filles de Cadmos, fondateur de Thèbes, étaient les plus belles filles de la ville. Après tout, Aphrodite était leur grand-mère. Zeus était particulièrement sensible aux charmes de Sémélé, qu'il venait aimer au palais de Thèbes. Sa façon d'apparaître et de disparaître était tellement mystérieuse que Sémélé était persuadée d'avoir affaire à une divinité. Le pressant de questions, elle apprit finalement qu'il était bien Zeus. Pour vérifier cette affirmation – elle attendait son enfant – elle décida de l'inviter à se présenter à elle sous son apparence réelle. Une nuit, elle lui demanda d'exaucer l'un de ses vœux. Zeus le promit sans hésiter, jurant même par le Styx, le fleuve des enfers – c'était le serment le plus solennel que puisse jurer un dieu. Sémélé formula son vœu : "Montrez-vous à moi sous votre véritable aspect divin." Zeus la supplia de demander autre chose, car cela était trop dangereux pour elle, mais Sémélé continua à insister. Zeus partit, affligé, car il savait ce qu'attendait la jeune femme. Il revint dans toute sa splendeur de dieu suprême, accompagné de nuages de pluie, d'éclairs et de roulements de tonnerre. Au moment même de son apparition, son éclat consuma Sémélé, qui donna naissance à son enfant avant terme. Mais les colonnes en bois de la pièce bourgeonnèrent et se recouvrirent de lierre, qui protégèrent l'enfant de la chaleur incandescente. Zeus le prit et l'introduisit dans sa cuisse, qu'il recousit à l'aide des épingles d'or de Sémélé. L'enfant s'y développa jusqu'à sa naissance. Il hérita des pouvoirs divins de son père et, même si sa mère était mortelle, il naquit en tant que divinité. Son nom : Dionysos.
*
Danaé, la fille unique du roi Acrisios d'Argos, une des cités les plus anciennes du Péloponnèse, fut emprisonnée par son père dans une tour de bronze (ou, selon une autre version, dans une cellule souterraine de bronze), parce qu'un oracle avait prédit au roi qu'il serait tué par son petit-fils. Mais l'espoir d'Acrisios d'éviter ainsi que Danaé ne mît au monde des enfants, s'avéra vain. En effet, Zeus, ému par la beauté et le chagrin de Danaé, s'introduisit dans sa geôle métamorphosé en pluie d'or et engendra un fils, Persée. Acrisios, enragé d'avoir été trompé et de nouveau gagné par la peur, fit placer sa fille et le nourrisson dans un coffre de bois, qu'il fit jeter à la mer. Protégés par Zeus, ils se laissèrent porter par les vagues et finirent par échouer dans la petite île de Sériphos, où ils furent accueillis à bras ouverts par le roi Polydectès. Après de longues années – et des aventures périlleuses avec Méduse et Andromède – Persée retourna à Argos. Son grand-père, d'abord mortellement inquiet en le voyant, finit par être complètement rassuré par l'attitude désarmante du jeune homme. Plus tard, Persée tua son grand-père par inadvertance en lançant le disque.
*
Vers la fin des années 1960, les détenus de la prison sud-africaine tristement célèbre de l'Ile aux Phoques, décidèrent de monter "Antigone" pour leur spectacle de Noël. À la lumière de la lutte contre l'apartheid, la pièce acquit un sens tout particulier. Le prisonnier qui se présenta pour jouer le rôle de Créon s'appelait Nelson Rolihlala Mandela.
*
Dans la famille des dieux de l'Olympe, Aphrodite, déesse de l'amour, est la fille de Zeus et l'épouse d'Héphaïstos. Elle eut également des liaisons avec d'autres divinités et avec des mortels. Avec Arès, fils de Zeus et d'Héra, elle eut un fils, qui fut appelé Éros.
*
Hadès, fils de Cronos, est le dieu des Enfers. Il est également le maître des richesses de la terre, et plus particulièrement des métaux précieux. Voilà pourquoi on l'appelait également Plouton ("Donneur de richesses").
*
Du côté de son père Éverès, le célèbre devin Tirésias descendait de la race d'hommes armés nés des dents de dragon plantés par Cadmos, le fondateur de Thèbes. La mère de Tyrésias était la nymphe Cariclo, l'une des compagnes d'Athènes. Comment Tirésias devint aveugle – première version : un jour, Athènes se baignait dans la fontaine Hippocrène dans l'Hélicon. Tirésias, qui chassait dans les montagnes, l'aperçut par hasard. La déesse le frappa de cécité, mais Cariclo plaida en faveur de son fils. Finalement, Tirésias reçut le don de voyance. Comment Tirésias devint aveugle – seconde version : un jour, Tirésias vit deux serpents s'accoupler et décida de se glisser entre les deux reptiles. Il fut aussitôt transformé en femme. Sept ans après, il découvrit de nouveau deux serpents enlacés et répéta son acte. Il redevint un homme. Une querelle sans fin opposait Zeus et Héra; ils n'arrivaient pas à décider qui, de l'homme ou de la femme, éprouve le plus grand plaisir dans l'amour. Ils firent appel à Tirésias comme arbitre pour mettre fin à la discussion, puisqu'il avait fait l'expérience des deux sexes. Tirésias répondit qu'une femme éprouve un plaisir neuf fois plus intense que l'homme. Furieuse, Héra le priva de la vue. Satisfait, Zeus lui accorda le don de prophétie et le droit de vivre sept vies humaines consécutives. On dit que Tirésias mourut de fatigue et de grand âge, au moment où le peuple de Thèbes, vaincu par les Épigones, partit en exil sur ses conseils.

Devant une longue table qui servira de scène, la comédienne, sourire en coin, s'avance vers le public et lui annonce le déroulement de la soirée. Pas de suspense. Chacun connaît l'histoire. Commence alors, sur un sol rayé de lumière dorée, l'inéluctable destin d'une jeune fille têtue, minijupe et baskets, natte blonde et jambes de sportive. Les acteurs, tous, tels qu'en eux-mêmes et magnifiques, nous accompagnent au plus haut de l'émotion, dans une pureté jamais atteinte. Antigone meurt tuée par ses propres mots. Rarement la tragédie a été aussi belle.
Les Flamands magnifiques , L'Express, Laurence Liban, 22/11/01

Les conventions de la tragédie et de la presse du cœur s'additionnent au bénéfice des émotions. Mais c'est la grâce des interprètes qui y pourvoit, leur vitalité insouciante, prête à forcer les passages.
Deux Antigones, la sainte, l'anarchiste, plus jeunes que jamais , Le Monde, Jean-Louis Perrier, 07/12/01

Dans le spectacle de tg STAN, la transition de l'une à l'autre pièce se fait harmonieusement. Les deux actrices (Natali Broods interprète Antigone) revêtent des robes moins stylisées et le ton glisse du débat philosophique à la conversation. Tg STAN a le don du naturel, une façon à la fois précise et chaleureuse de ne jamais perdre le fil. Les quatre comédiens (qui se partagent tous les rôles) réussissent à transformer leur accent (flamand, ou portugais pour Tiago Rodrigues) en atout, chaque syllabe muant en note de musique.
Une Antigones, deux fois , Libération, René Solis, 11/12/01

On est sur le fil du rasoir, à la limite de la parodie, ému pourtant par leur feinte maladresse. Il ne faut pas s'y tromper : ces lourdauds sont des artistes accomplis ; ces naïfs sont des petite malins, qui embobinent le public. Ils semblent avoir renoncé à toute forme, à tout apprêt, dans l'interprétation. On croit qu'ils improvisent. Erreur : tout est pensé, répété, construit. Belle leçon de théâtre. On sera constamment ému, amusé, surpris.
La catharsis, aujourd'hui , Le Figaro, Frédéric Ferney, 12/01

Dédramatiser d'abord pour arriver ensuite au drame dans tout son paroxysme, telle est donc la démarche de cette compagnie qui par les deux versions montre aussi comment Antigone est d'abord l'instrument des Dieux, ensuite maîtresse d'elle-même. Vrai jeu pour les amoureux du texte.
Les raisons de la colère des Antigones , La Libre Belgique, Laurence Bertels, 24/04/02

Le collectif anversois tg STAN touche une fois de plus le cœur de l'œuvre et la remet en jeu. Très simplement, sans scénographie imposante, usant de quelques artifices lumineux, les acteurs se plongent dans la situation et apportent un parfum dynamique et troublant à ces Antigones. L'approche de tg STAN, faite de la spontanéité et de la fragilité d'un théâtre qui s'invente sous nos yeux, s'attache aux mots. S'ils s'y accrochent parfois, les acteurs les prennent à bras-le-corps avec une énergie décapante. La langue y gagne en fraîcheur. Il s'en dégage une émouvante justesse.
Tg STAN face aux Antigones , Le Soir, Janine Dath, 29/04/02

texte Jean Cocteau / Jean Anouilh
de et avec Natali Broods, Jolente De Keersmaeker, Tine Embrechts, Tiago Rodrigues et Frank Vercruyssen

décor et lumière Thomas Walgrave
costumes An D'Huys
remerciments à Laurence d’Hondt

production tg STAN
coproduction Théâtre Garonne (Toulouse), Festival d’Automne (Paris) et Théâtre de la Bastille (Paris)

première le 15 mai 2001, Théâtre Garonne, Toulouse (FR)
première de la version anglaise le 1 er avril 2003, Kulturhuset, Stockholm (SE)