• info
  • credits
  • upcoming
  • images
  • video
  • press
Show past dates

archief

No upcoming events
We 14 Jan 2004
premiere
Antwerp
Monty

+32 3 2389181
website
Th 15 Jan 2004 Antwerp
Monty

+32 3 2389181
website
Fr 16 Jan 2004 Antwerp
Monty

+32 3 2389181
website
Sa 17 Jan 2004 Antwerp
Monty

+32 3 2389181
website
We 21 Jan 2004 Antwerp
Monty

+32 3 2389181
website
Th 22 Jan 2004 Antwerp
Monty

+32 3 2389181
website
Fr 23 Jan 2004 Antwerp
Monty

+32 3 2389181
website
Sa 24 Jan 2004 Antwerp
Monty

+32 3 2389181
website
Tu 27 Jan 2004 Brussels
Kaaistudio's

+32 2 2015959
website
We 28 Jan 2004 Brussels
Kaaistudio's

+32 2 2015959
website
Th 29 Jan 2004 Brussels
Kaaistudio's

+32 2 2015959
website
Fr 30 Jan 2004 Brussels
Kaaistudio's

+32 2 2015959
website
Mo 2 Feb 2004 Ghent
Kopergietery

+32 9 2337000
website
Tu 3 Feb 2004 Ghent
Kopergietery

+32 9 2337000
website
Th 5 Feb 2004 Geel
De Werft

+32 14 570341
website
Fr 6 Feb 2004 Haarlem
Toneelschuur

+31 23 5173910
website
Sa 7 Feb 2004 Haarlem
Toneelschuur

+31 23 5173910
website
Tu 10 Feb 2004 Louvain
30 CC / Schouwburg / ism STUK

+32 16 203020
website
We 11 Feb 2004 Louvain
30 CC / Schouwburg / ism STUK

+32 16 203020
website
Th 12 Feb 2004 Waregem
Cultuurcentrum De Schakel

+32 56 621340
website
Sa 14 Feb 2004 Groningen
Grand Theatre

+31 50 3140550
website
Th 19 Feb 2004 Amsterdam
Vlaams Cultuurhuis de Brakke Grond

+31 20 6266866
website
Fr 20 Feb 2004 Amsterdam
Vlaams Cultuurhuis de Brakke Grond

+31 20 6266866
website
Sa 21 Feb 2004 Amsterdam
Vlaams Cultuurhuis de Brakke Grond

+31 20 6266866
website
Tu 24 Feb 2004 Kortrijk
Buda / Limelight

+32 56 221001
website
We 25 Feb 2004 Ghent
Nieuwpoorttheater

+32 9 2230000
website
Th 26 Feb 2004 Ghent
Nieuwpoorttheater

+32 9 2230000
website
Fr 27 Feb 2004 Ghent
Nieuwpoorttheater

+32 9 2230000
website
Sa 28 Feb 2004 Ghent
Nieuwpoorttheater

+32 9 2230000
website
We 3 Mar 2004 Maasmechelen
Cultuurcentrum Maasmechelen

+32 89 769797
website
Th 4 Mar 2004 Leiden
LAKtheater

+31 71 5124890
website
Fr 5 Mar 2004 Bruges
De Werf / ism CC Brugge

+32 50 330529
website
Sa 6 Mar 2004 Mechelen
nOna

+32 15 203780
website
In 1925 the American State of Tennessee took a young biology teacher to court because he taught evolutionism. In this theory Darwin states that man was not created by God, as the Bible tells us, but that he descends from the ape. Teaching this was against the law as all subject matter had to respect biblical history. The case of the biology teacher became a clash of the titans between fundamentalism and modernism, religion and science, dogma and intellectual freedom. There was much ado about this court case, which was dubbed 'The Monkey Trial'. The transcription of the proceedings makes for a fascinating, thrilling and still astonishingly topical read.

I believe God did create the world. And I think we're finding out more and more and more as to how it actually happened.
George W. Bush, interview in U.S. News, 6 December 1999

After all, religion has been around a lot longer than Darwinism.
George W. Bush, George Magazine, September 2000

Monkey Trial was the ‘trial of the century’
The Scopes Trial (also known as the Monkey Trial) began on July10th 1925 in the small town of Dayton in Tennessee.

This was no ordinary trial and that had to do with the paradoxical fact that it was the defence that instituted the legal proceedings. The ACLU, a pressure group for civil liberties, was in fact looking for a publicity stunt to put the theme of academic freedom back on the agenda and it needed a man of straw who would admit that he had clean ignored the statutory ban on teaching the theory of evolution. In exchange, the ACLU would bear the full costs of the trial. The small town of Dayton fell in with the idea because a controversial case would, it hoped, put it on the map and boost tourism. It chose the local temporary biology teacher John Scopes as its guinea-pig.

Things took an unexpected turn when none other than the religious fundamentalist and three times presidential candidate Williams Jennings Bryan offered to act as public prosecutor and the highly successful anticlerical attorney Clarence Darrow took on the defence. Suddenly the trial became an emotional confrontation between the theory of evolution and the story of the Creation.

But it was more than that. "It is not Scopes who is standing trial, but the whole of civilization", Darrow declared on the opening day. After a few days the case was causing such a commotion that the judge moved the trial outside onto the lawn for fear the courtroom floor would give way. The Monkey Trial was also the first court case in America to be broadcast live on the radio.

The first few days of the trial saw the removal of various witnesses who threatened to damage the defence morally. On July 17th Darrow made a countermove which, according to the New York Times, resulted in "the most amazing court scene in Anglo-Saxon history". He asked Bryan to come into the witness box and bombarded him with questions that tested the credibility of the Bible: "Was Jonah really inside the whale for three days? How could Noah’s ark accommodate all the animals in the world?" Bryan was forced to admit that the Bible was probably not a literal science.

In the end, Scopes was convicted. Bryan died six days later. Slanderers taunted that "God had wanted to hit Darrow, but just missed him".

De Morgen, Wouter Hillaert, January 14th 2004

The Monkey Trial compilation

On monkeys and people
The Monkey Trial
is a sometimes hilarious exposition about biblical improbabilities in a battle fought by he-men who have right on their side. It is a rhetorical battle, as bombastic as it is futile, as the anticlimax of the eventual verdict shows, but it is also a disturbing portrait of the arbitrariness of ‘justice’. The Monkey Trial is a fine example of craftsmanship. The direction and the wonderful performance by the three actors as well as the surprising topicality of the material make this play an absolute must. 
De Standaard, Elke Van Campenhout, 16/01/04 

Monkeys-Believers: 1-1
The reconstruction of this sensational trial is a daring exploit for Robby Cleiren, Damiaan De Schrijver and Frank Vercruyssen of tg (‘toneelspelersgezelschap’ or ‘actors’ group’) STAN, who in this more than three-hour play provide a thoughtful interpretation of the historical clash between the theory of evolution and religion. Damiaan De Schrijver excels as John Raulston, the slightly naive judge who can’t cope with the complexity of the case and provides the occasional touch of comic relief with a rap of his gavel. Cleiren and Vercruyssen give an impressive performance by taking on all the other roles: from members of the jury through accused and witnesses to an army of lawyers. You can judge for yourself if John T. Scopes committed a crime, but what is certain is that The Monkey Trial is marvellous theatre.

Knack, Wim Smets, 28/01/04

"Objection, Your Honour!"
Little by little a fascinating picture emerges of a god-fearing, blinkered society. But also, and not least, the play engenders a marvellous (and topical) discussion about scientific and social values and norms. But apart from such considerations, it is also true to say that the trio just felt like getting its teeth into a good old courthouse play. And the sheer pleasure they derive from acting is nowhere more apparent than when they try to score points (“Objection, Your Honour”), leaning with studied nonchalance in shirtsleeves against the judge’s desk, or producing exhibit number such-and-such. Rhetorical fireworks and the art of argumentation culminate in the final scene of the play when Darrow and Bryan find themselves pitted against each other while the judge taps away merrily with his gavel. With thanks to the Stan actors for a very fine three-hour show which every now and then has you roaring with laughter.
De Volkskrant, Karin Veraart, 10/02/04

The lawyer in the actor
interview with STAN, Knack 04/02/04

Beirut audience gets jury duty in 'The Monkey Trial'
Daily Star 21/11/07

text after the transcription of 'The Scopes Trial'
adaptation Robby Cleiren and Frank Vercruyssen
translation in Dutch Martine Bom

a performance by Robby Cleiren, Jolente De Keersmaeker, Damiaan De Schrijver and Frank Vercruyssen
in the Dutch version with Robby Cleiren, Damiaan De Schrijver and Frank Vercruyssen
in the English version with Robby Cleiren, Tiago Rodrigues/ Stijn Van Opstal and Frank Vercruyssen

lighting design Thomas Walgrave
execution set Dirk Ceulemans and Raf De Clerq
many thanks to the crew of the Monty, Stef De Moor, Els Gladimes and An Roels

production tg STAN

premiere 14 January 2004, Monty, Antwerp
premiere of the English version 1 November 2007, Kulturhuset, Stockholm

• info
  • réalisation
  • calendrier
  • photos
  • vidéo
  • presse
Afficher les dates de représentations passées

archief

Pas de performances
mer 14 jan 2004
première
Anvers
Monty

+32 3 2389181
site web
jeu 15 jan 2004 Anvers
Monty

+32 3 2389181
site web
ven 16 jan 2004 Anvers
Monty

+32 3 2389181
site web
sam 17 jan 2004 Anvers
Monty

+32 3 2389181
site web
mer 21 jan 2004 Anvers
Monty

+32 3 2389181
site web
jeu 22 jan 2004 Anvers
Monty

+32 3 2389181
site web
ven 23 jan 2004 Anvers
Monty

+32 3 2389181
site web
sam 24 jan 2004 Anvers
Monty

+32 3 2389181
site web
mar 27 jan 2004 Bruxelles
Kaaistudio's

+32 2 2015959
site web
mer 28 jan 2004 Bruxelles
Kaaistudio's

+32 2 2015959
site web
jeu 29 jan 2004 Bruxelles
Kaaistudio's

+32 2 2015959
site web
ven 30 jan 2004 Bruxelles
Kaaistudio's

+32 2 2015959
site web
lun 2 fév 2004 Gand
Kopergietery

+32 9 2337000
site web
mar 3 fév 2004 Gand
Kopergietery

+32 9 2337000
site web
jeu 5 fév 2004 Geel
De Werft

+32 14 570341
site web
ven 6 fév 2004 Haarlem
Toneelschuur

+31 23 5173910
site web
sam 7 fév 2004 Haarlem
Toneelschuur

+31 23 5173910
site web
mar 10 fév 2004 Louvain
30 CC / Schouwburg / ism STUK

+32 16 203020
site web
mer 11 fév 2004 Louvain
30 CC / Schouwburg / ism STUK

+32 16 203020
site web
jeu 12 fév 2004 Waregem
Cultuurcentrum De Schakel

+32 56 621340
site web
sam 14 fév 2004 Groningen
Grand Theatre

+31 50 3140550
site web
jeu 19 fév 2004 Amsterdam
Vlaams Cultuurhuis de Brakke Grond

+31 20 6266866
site web
ven 20 fév 2004 Amsterdam
Vlaams Cultuurhuis de Brakke Grond

+31 20 6266866
site web
sam 21 fév 2004 Amsterdam
Vlaams Cultuurhuis de Brakke Grond

+31 20 6266866
site web
mar 24 fév 2004 Courtrai
Buda / Limelight

+32 56 221001
site web
mer 25 fév 2004 Gand
Nieuwpoorttheater

+32 9 2230000
site web
jeu 26 fév 2004 Gand
Nieuwpoorttheater

+32 9 2230000
site web
ven 27 fév 2004 Gand
Nieuwpoorttheater

+32 9 2230000
site web
sam 28 fév 2004 Gand
Nieuwpoorttheater

+32 9 2230000
site web
mer 3 mars 2004 Maasmechelen
Cultuurcentrum Maasmechelen

+32 89 769797
site web
jeu 4 mars 2004 Leiden
LAKtheater

+31 71 5124890
site web
ven 5 mars 2004 Bruges
De Werf / ism CC Brugge

+32 50 330529
site web
sam 6 mars 2004 Malines
nOna

+32 15 203780
site web
En 1925, l'État américain du Tennessee traduisit en justice un jeune professeur de sciences naturelles parce qu'il enseignait la théorie de l'évolution. Dans cette dernière, Darwin affirme que l'homme n'a pas été créé par Dieu, comme le dit la Bible, mais qu'il descend du singe. Présenter aux enfants la théorie de l'évolution enfreignait la loi selon laquelle il fallait que l'enseignement respecte l'histoire sainte. Le procès du professeur se transforma en un combat de Titans entre valeurs fondamentalistes et modernistes, entre la religion et la science, entre le dogme et la liberté intellectuelle. L'affaire entra dans l'histoire sous le nom de « The Monkey Trial ». La transcription du procès du singe est un texte fascinant et captivant, étonnamment actuel.

Je crois que Dieu a effectivement créé le monde. Et je pense que nous sommes en train d'en apprendre toujours plus et toujours plus et toujours plus sur comment ça s'est réellement passé.
George W. Bush, U.S. News, le 6 décembre 1999

Après tout, la religion existe depuis bien plus longtemps que le Darwinisme.
George W. Bush, George Magazine, septembre 2000

Le "procès du singe", procès du siècle en son temps
Le procès Scopes (dit le procès du singe) débute le 10 juillet 1925 dans la petite ville de Dayton, dans l’État du Tennessee.

Le caractère singulier de ce procès repose sur un paradoxe: ce sont les défenseurs civils qui font tout ce qu’ils peuvent pour le provoquer. L’ACLU, l’Union Américaine pour les Libertés Civiles, veut en effet marquer un coup médiatique et remettre la question de la liberté académique à l’ordre du jour. Dans ce dessein, elle se met en quête d’un volontaire prêt à admettre qu’il a résolument transgressé l’interdiction légale d’enseigner la théorie de l’évolution, en échange de quoi l’ACLU prend en charge tous les frais du procès. La ville de Dayton voit cette perspective d’un bon œil, parce qu’une affaire retentissante pourrait stimuler le tourisme. Ainsi John Scopes, un professeur intérimaire de biologie offre le profil du parfait cobaye.

Contre toute attente, c’est l’intégriste religieux Williams Jennings Bryan, trois fois candidat à l’élection présidentielle, qui se porte partie civile. Pour assurer la défense, il a en face de lui le ténor du barreau Clarence Darrow, connu pour ses positions anticléricales. Le procès se transforme soudain en un affrontement intense entre théorie évolutionniste et créationniste.
Mieux encore. Le jour de l’ouverture du procès, Darrow déclare: "Ceci n’est pas le procès de Scopes, mais de toute la société." L’agitation générale prend une telle ampleur, qu’au bout de quelques jours, le juge décide de déménager le tribunal, les jurés et le public sur la pelouse du Palais de justice, craignant que le plancher de la salle d’audience ne cède sous le poids de la foule. Ce procès est aussi le premier à avoir été radiodiffusé en direct aux États-Unis.

Au cours des premiers jours, plusieurs témoignages plaident au détriment moral de la défense. Mais le 17 juillet, Darrow pare par une riposte que le New York Times qualifie de "scène la plus spectaculaire de l’histoire judiciaire anglo-saxonne". Appelant Bryan en personne à la barre des témoins, il enchaîne question sur question, mettant ainsi à l’épreuve la crédibilité scientifique de la Bible: "Jonas a-t-il réellement passé trois jours dans le ventre d’une baleine? Comment Noé a-t-il pu faire entrer l’intégralité des animaux du monde dans son arche?" Et ainsi de suite. Bryan est finalement obligé d’admettre que la Bible n’est peut-être pas une source de données scientifiques absolues.

Ce qui n’empêchera pas Scopes d’être condamné. Bryan meurt six jours après la fin du procès. Les mauvaises langues avanceront que "Dieu avait en fait voulu punir Darrow, mais l’avait raté".

De Morgen, Wouter Hillaert, le 14 janvier 2004

The Monkey Trial compilation

Des singes et des hommes
The Monkey Trial
est un exposé, hilarant par moments, sur les invraisemblances bibliques, une joute entre de grands ténors persuadés d'avoir raison. C'est un combat rhétorique aussi grandiloquent que futile, comme le démontre la sentence qui nous fait revenir sur terre, mais également une vision inquiétante de l'arbitraire de la justice. The Monkey Trial est un bel exemple de savoir-faire. Tant la mise en scène que le merveilleux jeu des trois comédiens et la surprenante actualité de la matière font de ce spectacle une expérience à recommander tout particulièrement.
De Standaard, Elke Van Campenhout, 16/01/04

Singes-Croyants : 1-1
La reconstitution de ce procès retentissant est une véritable prouesse pour les acteurs, qui, pendant près de trois heures, donnent une interprétation tout en nuances du clash historique entre la théorie de l'évolution et la foi chrétienne. Damiaan De Schrijver est superbe dans le rôle de John Raulston, le juge légèrement naïf qui est dépassé par la complexité du procès (et du sujet), et qui déride les spectateurs de temps en temps à l'aide d'un coup de marteau bien senti. Cleiren et Vercruyssen fournissent une prestation remarquable en se chargeant à eux deux de tous les rôles, des membres du jury et des témoins à l'accusé, en passant par une armée d'avocats. À vous de juger si John T. Scopes s'est rendu coupable d'un délit ; ce qui est incontestable, c'est que The Monkey Trial est du théâtre exceptionnel.
Knack, Wim Smets, 28/01/04

Un jeu savoureux: « Objection, Votre Honneur! »
Petit à petit se dessine l'image passionnante d'une société bornée et dévote, mais aussi – ou surtout – se développe une discussion captivante, d'une grande actualité, sur les normes et valeurs scientifiques et sociales. Il est clair que Stan est doué pour soulever les grandes questions de société. Mais à part de telles considérations, le trio d'acteurs avait aussi envie, tout simplement, de jouer une pièce de tribunal. Ils s'amusent visiblement à tenter de démonter la partie adverse (« Objection, Votre Honneur! »), à s'appuyer en bras de chemise et avec une feinte nonchalance au bureau du juge, ou à présenter la pièce à conviction numéro tant. Le feu d'artifice oratoire et l'art de l'argumentation culminent dans la dernière scène opposant Darrow et Bryan, pendant que le juge joue à fond de son marteau. Merci aux comédiens de STAN pour ce superbe spectacle de trois heures, qui est aussi merveilleusement hilarant par moments.
De Volkskrant, Karin Veraart, 10/02/04

texte d'après la transcription du procès « The Scopes Trial »
adaptation Robby Cleiren et Frank Vercruyssen
traduction en néerlandais Martine Bom

un spectacle de Robby Cleiren, Jolente De Keersmaeker, Damiaan De Schrijver et Frank Vercruyssen
dans la version néerlandaise avec Robby Cleiren, Damiaan De Schrijver et Frank Vercruyssen
dans la version anglaise avec Robby Cleiren, Tiago Rodrigues/ Stijn Van Opstal et Frank Vercruyssen

lumières Thomas Walgrave
exécution du décor Dirk Ceulemans et Raf De Clerq
remerciments à l'équipe du Monty, Stef De Moor, Els Gladimes et An Roels

production STAN

première le 14 janvier 2004, Monty, Anvers
première de la version anglaise le 1 er novembre 2007, Kulturhuset, Stockholm